Katharine Wright Trophy

Nomination Period: January 1 – March 31

Nomination Guidelines for the Katharine Wright Memorial Trophy

Katharine Wright Memorial Trophy

About the Award

The Katharine Wright Memorial Trophy was established in 1981 by the Gates Learjet Corporation and is awarded annually in partnership with the Ninety-Nines, International Organization of Women Pilots to an individual who has contributed to the success of others, or made a personal contribution to the advancement of the art, sport and science of aviation and space flight over an extended period of time. The first award was made to Moya Lear, wife of Bill Lear.

The award was named in honor of Orville and Wilbur Wright’s sister, Katharine. She used money from teaching to purchase supplies for her brothers’ experiments, nursed Orville back to health after he crashed in Fort Myer, Virginia, contributed ideas to their experiments and trials, and acted as a public figure to endorse the safety of flying and the Wrights’ aircraft. She not only provided financial support to her brothers’ endeavors, but also emotional and public support to her brothers as well.

For additional information, please e-mail us at [email protected].