The National Aeronautic Association announces appointment of 9 new board members

Washington, DC, December 19, 2022 – The National Aeronautic Association (NAA) is pleased to announce the addition of nine new board members to its Board of Directors: Ted Ellett, Jana Denning, Sierra Grimes, Nicole Alexander, Matt Byrd, Ben Kowalski, Martiqua Post, Stacey Rudser and Patty Wagstaff. Elected at the Board of Directors meeting Friday December 16, these individuals will begin serving in January 2023. Each member of the board brings unique experiences and expertise to the table further promoting the future of aeronautics.

“The executive committee and I are proud to welcome nine new board members to elevate NAA to the next level,” said Greg Principato, CEO and President of the NAA. “These individuals as well as the board as a whole bring tremendous value to the organization with experts including government officials, aviation industry leaders, executives of air sport organizations, representatives from higher-education and representatives of leading aviation organizations.”

The role of the Board of Directors is an integral part in providing policy guidance to the association’s president and staff and is responsible for content and alteration of NAA’s ByLaws. See below for the full list of the 2023 NAA Board of Directors.


  • Jim Albaugh, Chair
  • Samantha Magill, Vice Chair
  • Ted Ellett*, General Counsel
  • Elizabeth Matarese, Secretary
  • Greg Principato, President & CEO


  • Nicole Alexander*, Wichita Aero Club
  • Ché Bolden, The Charles F. Bolden Group
  • Pete Bunce, General Aviation Manufacturers Association
  • Matt Byrd*, Hillwood Aviation
  • Leda Chong, Gulfstream Aerospace Corporation Dynetics
  • James Darcy, Airbus Americas
  • Robert DeForge, Raytheon Technologies
  • Jana Denning*, The Aero Club of Washington
  • Angela Gittens, Airports Council International (Retired)
  • Arthur W. Greenfield, Jr., NAA Contest & Records Director
  • Sierra Grimes*, National Business Aviation Association
  • Rich Hanson, Academy of Model Aeronautics
  • Chris Hart, Hart Solutions, LLC.
  • Duane Hawkins, Spirit Aerosystems
  • Dick Koenig, New England Air Museum
  • Ben Kowalski*, Cirrus Aircraft
  • Dr. John S. Langford,
  • Rebecca Lutte, University of Nebraska – Omaha
  • Charles Lyon, Northrop Grumman
  • Candace McGraw, Cincinnati/Northern Kentucky Int’l Airport
  • Brad McKeage, Embraer
  • Mary Miller, Signature Aviation
  • Bill Morris, GE Aviation
  • Mary Claire Murphy, Textron Aviation
  • Mark Ofsthun, Honda Aircraft Company
  • Ziad Ojakli, The Boeing Company
  • Martin Palmaz, US Hang Gliding and Paragliding Association
  • Ken Panos, Aerojet Rocketdyne
  • Eric Pierce, Lockheed Martin
  • Pat Prentiss, The Ninety-Nines, Inc. Martiqua Post*, US Air Force Academy
  • Skip Ringo, The Ringo Group
  • Rolls-Royce, North America
  • Yvette Rose, Cargo Airline Association
  • Stacey Rudser*, Association for Women in Aviation Maintenance
  • Bob Stangarone, Stangarone & Associates
  • Tonya Sudduth, Bombardier
  • Brad Thress, FlightSafety International
  • Read Van De Water, Safran USA
  • Anthony L. Velocci, Aviation Week & Space Technology Magazine (Retired)
  • Patty Wagstaff*
  • Carl Wolf, Garmin International
  • Clyde Woltman, Leonardo Helicopters, USA

*New 2023 board members

The National Aeronautic Association is a non-profit membership organization devoted to fostering opportunities to participate fully in aviation activities and to promoting public understanding of the importance of aviation and space flight to the United States. NAA is the caretaker of some of the most important aviation awards in the world and certifies all national aviation records set in the United States. For information, visit