FAI Awards

Fédération Aéronautique Internationale (FAI) Awards

Nomination Period: Must be submitted to NAA by April 30

About the Awards

The Fédération Aéronautique Internationale (FAI) awards dozens of international medals and diplomas annually to recognize accomplishments in the air, especially in the field of sporting aviation. The NAA works to identify worthy candidates and generate nominations for the FAI Awards listed below.

  • Gold Air Medal
    For those who have contributed greatly to the development of aeronautics by their activities, work, achievements, initiative or devotion to the cause of aviation.
  • Gold Space Medal
    For those who have contributed greatly to the development of astronautics by their activities, work, achievements, initiative or devotion to the cause of space.
  • Sabiha Gökçen Medal
    For the woman who performs the most outstanding achievement in any air sport in the previous year.
  • Silver Medal
    To a person who has occupied high office in FAI or in an aeronautical organization in one of its member countries, and in the discharge of their duties have shown exceptional powers of leadership and influence, to the benefit of the whole international air sport community.
  • Diploma for Outstanding Airmanship
    To a person or a group of persons for a feat of outstanding airmanship in sub-orbital flight during one of the previous two years and which resulted in the saving of life of others and was carried out with that objective. Anyone engaged in a routine search and/or rescue mission shall not be eligible.
  • Paul Tissandier Diploma
    To those who have served the cause of aviation in general and sporting aviation in particular, by their work, initiative, devotion or in other ways.
  • Honorary Group Diploma
    To recognize groups of people (design offices, scientific bodies, aeronautical publications, etc) that have contributed significantly to the progress of aeronautics and astronautics during the previous year or years.

Nomination Guidelines for the FAI Awards:

Please use the following guidelines when submitting a nomination for the FAI Awards. Nominations that do not fall within the specifications listed below may not be considered during the selection process.

Nomination Format:

Nominations should be done in a Word Document and be a maximum of 3 pages:

  • 1st page: Name of the Award for which you are making the nomination and the contact information for nominee and nominator (name, address, phone and email address).
  • 2nd and 3rd page: information on why the nominee would be deserving of the award with specifics on actions and events applicable to that award.


All nominations must be received at the NAA’s office by April 30. Submit nominations as an attachment in an email to [email protected] (if April 30 falls on a weekend or holiday, the deadline moves to the NEXT business day); nominations received after the deadline will not be accepted.


FAI Awards are presented each year at the opening ceremony of FAI’s general conference. Many of the recipients honored have had their name closely associated with the history and development of aeronautics and astronautics.

For additional information, please email us at [email protected] 

See a Full List of Past Winners