Wright Brothers Memorial Trophy

Wright Brothers Memorial Trophy

Nomination Accepted Through June 3rd

About the Trophy

In 1948, NAA created the Wright Brothers Memorial Trophy, which has been presented by the President of NAA annually on or near the anniversary of the historic first flight, at the Aero Club of Washington’s Annual Wright Memorial Dinner. The trophy is awarded annually to a living American for “significant public service of enduring value to aviation in the United States.”

Nomination Guidelines for the Wright Brothers Memorial Trophy:

Please follow the following guidelines when submitting a nomination for NAA’s Wright Brothers Memorial Trophy. Nominations that do not fall within the specifications listed below may not be considered during selection.


The Wright Brothers Memorial Trophy is awarded annually to a living American for significant public service of enduring value to aviation in the United States. The words “public service” are interpreted to include either (1) public service, whether as a full-time employee of the government or as an unpaid volunteer serving on a government commission or agency, or (2) service, which made a significant contribution of enduring value to the public. The word “aviation” should be interpreted broadly to include aerospace activities.

Nomination Format:

The nomination must be submitted in PDF format. The nomination is limited to three (3) pages, not including the citation; the writer may choose the page layout, size, and font type. Attachments, reprints of articles, etc., will not be considered unless incorporated into and made part of the three pages. The citation may be placed on a separate page. The nomination should contain the name of the person making the nomination, including address, telephone number, and e-mail address. The nominee(s) are to be fully identified, along with mailing, telephone, and e-mail addresses. All nomination materials will become the property of NAA.

The body of the nomination should include information justifying why the nominee is worthy of this award; give complete and concise details with such background information as considered pertinent, along with any other relevant information that would assist the Selection Committee in determining the worthiness of the nominee with particular attention to the “Criteria” above.


Nominations must be received by NAA prior to June 1 (if June 1 falls on a weekend or holiday, the deadline moves to the NEXT business day). Nominations must be submitted by email as a Word Document to [email protected] with the “Wright Bros Nomination” in the subject line.

For additional information, please email us at [email protected].

Wright Bros. 2020-2029 Recipients
Wright Bros. 2010-2019 Recipients
Wright Bros. 2000-2009 Recipients
Wright Bros. 1990-1999 Recipients
Wright Bros. 1980-1989 Recipients
Wright Bros. 1970-1979 Recipients
Wright Bros. 1960-1969 Recipients
Wright Bros. 1948-1959 Recipients