Mackay Trophy

Mackay Trophy

Nomination Period: Submit by January 31 directly to the U.S. Air Force for review by the Air Force Chief of Staff (CSAF)

About the Award:

The Mackay Trophy was first presented by Clarence Mackay in 1912 and was later deeded to the NAA. The trophy is awarded for the most meritorious flight of the year by an Air Force person, persons, or organization. The United States Air Force determines the winner and the National Aeronautic Association presents the trophy to the winner.

Nomination Guidelines for the Mackay Trophy


The trophy is given for the “most meritorious flight of the year” by an Air Force person, persons, or organization (first consideration given to individuals) for gallantry and intrepidity; and for unusual initiative and resourcefulness and achievement of outstanding results with unusual presence of mind under combat or non-combat conditions.


Commanders of major Air Force commands are responsible for screening, selecting and submitting to the Director of Military Personnel nominations originating within their respective commands for forwarding to the Chief of Staff of the United States Air Force by January 31 of the year following the “meritorious flight”.


The trophy winner is selected annually by the Chief of Staff of the United States Air Force.

Rules and Regulations:

Headquarters United States Air Force, Deputy Chief of Staff Air & Space Operations, Annual Awards, #36-2807, Chapter 7, dated 01/02/00.

For additional information, please email us at [email protected].

Mackay 2020-2029 Recipients
Mackay 2010-2019 Recipients
Mackay 2000-2009 Recipients
Mackay 1990-1999 Recipients
Mackay 1980-1989 Recipients
Mackay 1970-1979 Recipients
Mackay 1960-1969 Recipients
Mackay 1950-1959 Recipients
Mackay 1940-1949 Recipients
Mackay 1930-1939 Recipients
Mackay 1920-1929 Recipients
Mackay 1912-1919 Recipients