Sisters of the Skies Named Recipient of 2023 Henderson Trophy

Pioneering organization recognized for their support of future Black aviators.

Washington, DC, August 23, 2023 – The National Aeronautic Association (NAA) is pleased to announce that
Sisters of the Skies™ is chosen as the recipient of the 2023 Clifford Henderson Award.

The Henderson Trophy, founded in 1960, is named after Clifford W. Henderson, an enthusiastic aviation
proponent. The Trophy is awarded annually to a living individual, group of individuals, or an organization
whose vision, leadership or skill made a significant and lasting contribution to the promotion and
advancement of aviation and aerospace. Nominees are proposed by the NAA President and approved by the
NAA Executive Committee.

Sisters of the Skies, Inc™ is being honored for their commitment to increase awareness of the opportunities
in aviation and increase the number of Black female pilots who are introduced, celebrated, and supported
through their scholarship, mentorship, professional development, and outreach programs.
“The growth of aviation as an industry and as a career is threatened by the lack of a broad pipeline for
talent,” said NAA President & CEO Greg Principato. “Sisters of the Skies makes an incredible contribution to
solving that problem. They are building the future of aviation. It is exactly this kind of passion and
commitment that we seek to honor with the Clifford Henderson Trophy, and it will be an honor to present
the 2023 award to Sisters of the Skies.”

Sisters of the Skies, Inc™, originated in 2016 by two pilots, was initially founded to connect the few Black
female pilots flying commercially and for the U.S. Military. As they began to turn to current aviators for
support, they soon discovered that more was needed. Since its founding, Sisters of the Skies, Inc™ has grown
to a multifaceted organization that attracts and retains aviation professionals as well as provides
representation to a new generation of pilots.

“The Henderson Trophy holds profound significance for Sisters of the Skies, serving as a testament to our
unwavering dedication and commitment to creating a more inclusive and equitable industry,” said Sisters of
the Skies, Inc™ Co-Founder Nia Gilliam-Wordlaw. “This prestigious award validates our mission, recognizes
our accomplishments, and powerfully affirms the impact we are making in the field of aviation. We are
honored to be a recipient.”

Please join us in celebrating this award at the Sisters of the Skies Scholarship Gala on February 3, 2024. More
information about the event can be found here.

The National Aeronautic Association is a non-profit membership organization devoted to fostering
opportunities to participate fully in aviation activities and to promoting public understanding of the
importance of aviation and space flight to the United States. NAA is the caretaker of some of the most
important aviation awards in the world and certifies all national aviation records set in the United States. For
information, visit