Four Aerospace Innovations Advance To The Final Round For The 2023 Robert J. Collier Trophy

Representing General & Business Aviation, Military Aviation, Aerospace, and Sustainable Propulsion, the finalists for the 2023 Collier are Among the Most Diverse Class to Date.

Washington, D.C. February 20, 2024 -The National Aeronautic Association is thrilled to announce the finalists vying for the 2023 Collier Trophy.

The Robert J. Collier Trophy is selected by a prestigious group of aviation leaders chosen by the National Aeronautic Association (NAA). The trophy is awarded annually for the greatest achievement in aeronautics or astronautics in America with respect to improving the performance, efficiency, and safety of air or space vehicles, the value of which has been thoroughly demonstrated by actual use during the preceding year.

Commissioned by Robert J. Collier in 1910, and first awarded in 1911, the Collier Trophy is housed in the Smithsonian’s National Air and Space Museum. Collier intended to encourage the American aviation community to strive for excellence in aeronautic development. Today, the Collier Trophy is widely known as the most prized of all aeronautical honors, and the list of Collier recipients represents a timeline of aviation achievement.

The finalists for the 2023 Collier are:
  • magniX for magni650 Electric Propulsion Unit (EPU)
  • NASA, University of Arizona, and Lockheed Martin for the OSIRIS-REx Team
  • Reliable Robotic for Advanced Autonomous Flight Systems
  • United States Air Force and DARPA for the X-62A ACE Team

“A significant aspect of the NAA mission is the recognition and reward of the people and teams who have made outstanding contributions to aviation and aerospace,” said Amy Spowart, President and CEO of the NAA. “For 112 years, the NAA has presented the Collier Trophy to pioneers like Glenn Curtiss (1911), strategic leaders such as Hap Arnold (1942), trailblazers like the B-1 Industry Team (1976), and the revolutionary Mars Ingenuity Team (2021).”

The final round of the Collier Selection will occur on March 21st, 2024, in Washington, DC. Each group will have the opportunity to give a 10-minute presentation of their nomination (visual aids and presentation slides will be allowed), followed by up to 20 minutes of questions from the Selection Committee. Up to four team members representing each nomination will be permitted to participate in the presentation/Q&A session.

“We have bestowed the prestigious Collier Trophy since 1911. The list of those extraordinary people receiving the Collier is the story of aviation innovation and advancement,” Spowart added. “The NAA is eager to see who will earn their historic place among aerospace greatness as the 2023 Collier Trophy Recipient.”

For a complete list of Collier Trophy Awardees, please visit