NAA Board Members Honored at Aviation Week’s Laureates Awards Ceremony

For over 60 years, Aviation Week’s Laureate Awards have recognized the extraordinary achievements of individuals and teams in aviation, aerospace, and defense. Their accomplishments embody the spirit of exploration, innovation and vision that inspire others to strive for progress, change and leadership in aviation and aerospace.

Several members of the NAA Board of Directors were honored at the Aviation Week Laureate Awards Ceremony on March 1, 2018 at the National Building Museum in Washington D.C. Award recipients included:

Business Aviation: Leadership – Edward M. Bolen, President & CEO, National Business Aviation Association (NBAA)

In this role, Mr. Bolen created a broad coalition to represent the business aviation community’s interests in a unified and forceful opposition to the transfer of federal control of the U.S. air traffic management system to a semi-private entity.

Dr. John S. Langford, Chairman and CEO, Aurora Flight Sciences

Dr. Langford’s achievements range from leading the MIT Daedalus team that set human-powered flight records in 1988 to building Aurora Flight Sciences, the company he founded in 1989, into a world leader in autonomous flight. In 2017, Boeing moved to acquire Aurora for its expertise and Dr. Langford was named the next chairman of the American Institute of Aeronautics and Astronautics.

Bruce Whitman, Chairman, President and CEO, FlightSafety International

Mr. Whitman is being honored for providing clear direction, support and management for his aviation training and simulator manufacturing company for over 50 years and by doing so helping to ensure the safety of thousands of air crews and passengers every day.

To view complete list of Aviation Week Laureate recipients, please click here. Congratulations to all of the winners!