January 12, 2021 Newsbite

Dear NAA Members and Friends,

Happy New Year greetings from NAA! The beginning of 2021 is shaping up to be an exciting time for our organization with nominations for the 2020 Collier Trophy due at the end of January, the continuation of our webinar series with the National Aviation Hall of Fame, and the announcement of the 2020 Stinson Trophy recipient in early February. We are ready to meet the challenges and embrace the opportunities that this new year will bring, and we hope that you will come along with us on the journey.

The nomination period for one of aviation’s oldest and most prestigious awards, the Robert J. Collier Trophy, is now open through January 31. Founded in 1911 by aviator, humanitarian, and sportsman Robert J. Collier, the trophy is awarded annually “… for the greatest achievement in aeronautics or astronautics in America, with respect to improving the performance, efficiency, and safety of air or space vehicles, the value of which has been thoroughly demonstrated by actual use during the preceding year.” The list of Collier winners represents a timeline of aviation and space, as many of the awardees mark major events in the history of flight. More information about the Collier Trophy criteria and newly updated nomination guidelines are available on the NAA website. For questions, please contact Stephanie Griffith, Director of Awards, Events, & Membership at [email protected].

Tomorrow at 6:00 p.m. ET, NAA and the National Aviation Hall of Fame will host Part 2 of the Aerospace Education: Inspiring the Workforce of Tomorrow webinar. Part 1 of this webinar was so successful, that we were asked to hold a second event at a time more accessible to educators. Our panelists, Dr. John Langford, Dr. James Gregory, Scott McComb, and Shella Condino, graciously agreed and we are thrilled to further explore how to inspire a workforce steeped in STEAM concepts and drawn from the entire talent pool. We hope that you will join us for this illuminating discussion!

The 2021 International Women in Aviation Conference is going virtual! The conference host, Women in Aviation International, has made the decision to replace the in-person gathering of the 32nd annual conference with an all-virtual, two-day event on March 11-12. More details about registration and an updated agenda will be forthcoming soon. Please mark your calendar as you won’t want to miss the inspiring keynote speakers, professional development seminars, education sessions, virtual exhibit hall, scholarship awards, and 2021 Pioneer Hall of Fame inductions.

The 18th Annual Living Legends of Aviation Awards is planned for the Spring of 2021, with the exact date to be announced. The official host, John Travolta, will officiate the induction of new legends and a special celebration of life is planned for those legends who took their final flight west in 2020 including Joe Clark, Zoe Dell Lantis Nutter, Elling Halvorson, Emily Howell Warner, Chuck Yeager, and Tracy Forrest. For more information is available on the Living Legends of Aviation website.

Donate to NAA