General J.R. “Jack” Dailey to Receive the 2020 Bruce Whitman Trophy

General J.R. “Jack” Dailey, USMC (Ret.) and Former Director of the
Smithsonian’s National Air and Space Museum, was selected in June as the recipient of the 2020 Bruce Whitman Trophy.

The Bruce Whitman Trophy was established by the Board of Directors of NAA in 2019 to honor the late aerospace executive and philanthropist. Whitman was posthumously named as the first
recipient of the trophy the same year.

The trophy is awarded to “… outstanding individuals who have made significant contributions to aviation or aerospace in the United States, and who by working with museums and other
institutions have promoted an appreciation by students and the broader public of the sacrifices and legacy of members of the military service.” A deserving nominee is put forth annually by
the Chairman of the NAA to the Executive Committee of NAA for confirmation by majority vote.

“I can’t think of anyone who embodies the spirit of the Bruce Whitman Trophy more than Jack,” said NAA Chairman Jim Albaugh. “What makes it especially meaningful, is that while both Jack and Bruce were dedicated to aerospace and its heritage, they were also very close friends.”

“It is a great honor for me to receive this award named after an aviation leader and good friend, Bruce Whitman,” said Dailey.

NAA will present the Bruce Whitman Trophy to General Dailey on a date to be announced.