February 25, 2021 Newsbite

Dear NAA Members and Friends,

NAA announced yesterday that seven aviation and space achievements will compete for the 2020 Collier Trophy. Commissioned in 1910 by aviator, humanitarian, and sportsman, Robert J. Collier, the trophy has served as the benchmark of aerospace achievement for over a century. Awarded annually “… for the greatest achievement in aeronautics or astronautics in America,” it has been bestowed upon some of the most important projects, programs, individuals, and accomplishments in history, including Orville Wright, Howard Hughes, the crews of Apollo 11 and Apollo 8, the B-52, the Voyager Aircraft Team, the Gulfstream V, and the International Space Station. The seven finalists competing for the 2020 Collier Trophy are:

Bell V-280 Valor
Boeing Confident Travel Initiative
Garmin Autoland
Reliable Robotics Remotely Operated Aircraft System (ROAS)
SpaceX Falcon 9 & Dragon 2
U.S. Department of the Air Force Green Propellant Infusion Mission Team
Yates Electrospace Corporation’s Silent Arrow

The Collier Trophy Selection Committee will meet virtually in June and the winner will be announced publicly following the selection. The formal presentation of the 2020 Collier Trophy will take place when health and safety protocols allow.

NAA and the National Aviation Hall of Fame will moderate our next webinar, Journalism & Aviation: A Complex Relationship, taking place on March 3 at 3:00 p.m. ET. Aviation professionals are often frustrated by a lack of public understanding of aviation and journalists are challenged in giving aviation issues thorough coverage. Panelists Miles O’Brien, National Science Correspondent, PBS NewsHour; Mindy Kershner, Senior Manager, Communications & Community Affairs, Cincinnati/Northern Kentucky International Airport; Julie Boatman, Editor-and-Chief, Flying Magazine; and Pete Muntean, Aviation & Transportation Correspondent, CNN will explore these dynamics in a thought-provoking, entertaining, and well-informed manner. This is one stellar panel you won’t want to miss!

The nomination period is now open for the NAA Katharine Wright Trophy and the Federation Aeronautique Internationale (FAI) Awards. The Katharine Wright Trophy was established in 1981 by the Gates Learjet Corporation and is awarded annually in partnership with The Ninety-Nines “… to an individual who has contributed to the success of others, or made a personal contribution to the advancement of the art, sport, and science of aviation and space flight over an extended period of time.” The nomination deadline for the Katharine Wright Trophy is March 31. FAI awards dozens of medals and diplomas annually to recognize international accomplishments in aviation and space. As the United States representative to FAI, NAA works to identify worthy candidates and generate nominations for the following FAI Awards: Gold Air Medal, Gold Space Medal, Sabiha Gokcen Medal, Silver Medal, Diploma for Outstanding Airmanship, Paul Tissandier Diploma, and the Group Diploma of Honour. Nominations should be submitted directly to NAA by April 30.

Save the date for Women in Aviation International’s Girls in Aviation Day on Saturday, March 13 from 1:00 p.m. to 3:00 p.m. ET. This free, fun, and virtual event is perfect for girls and boys ages 8-17 and will feature female leaders of the United States Air Force Thunderbirds and a female NASA astronaut. Register today!

Across the globe, young people are grabbing the reins of the industry and pushing it to ever-greater heights. The National Business Aviation Association’s Young Professionals in Business Aviation (YoPro) program will once again shine a light on their efforts. Hundreds of qualified candidates are reviewed annually by the YoPro Council, the group’s governing body, and narrowed down to 40 outstanding individuals representing the broad diversity of disciplines within our industry. These men and women are chosen based upon their career achievements, community involvement, efforts to help develop the next generation of business aviation professionals, and lastly, their innovative contribution to the industry. Nominations are now being accepted through June 11.

Donate to NAA