

## James Webb Space Telescope Team Earns the 2022 Robert J. Collier Trophy

Aviations greatest award will be given to ground-breaking space observatory

**WASHINGTON, DC April 5, 2023**—It is with great excitement that the National Aeronautic Association (NAA) shares that the James Webb Space Telescope Team has earned the 2022 Robert J. Collier Award.

"The James Webb Space Telescope is one of the greatest achievements in aerospace history. In a matter of months, Webb has changed our understanding of the universe, and many more discoveries lie ahead," said Kathy Warden, Chair, Chief Executive Officer and President at Northrop Grumman. "We dedicate the Collier Trophy to the Northrop Grumman employees and our industry partners who delivered humanity an extraordinary observatory to explore the universe and inspire future generations."

The Robert J. Collier Trophy has been awarded annually since 1911 for the greatest achievement in aeronautics or astronautics in America, with respect to improving the performance, efficiency, and safety of air or space vehicles, the value of which has been thoroughly demonstrated by actual use during the preceding year.

"The James Webb Space Telescope is nothing short of a scientific feat, and is a shining example of what NASA can accomplish when we push the boundaries of space exploration," said NASA Administrator Bill Nelson. "From discovering some of the earliest galaxies ever observed to delivering a more detailed view of exoplanet atmospheres than ever before, it's all due to the hard work and dedication of the exceptional Webb team. Congratulations on this well-deserved honor!"

The list of Collier recipients represents a timeline of the most groundbreaking aviation achievements that created today's aerospace industry. Previous recipients include momentous people and achievements such as Orville Wright (1913), Chuck Yeager (1947), and NASA/JPL *Ingenuity* Team (2021). The James Webb Space Telescope is appropriately placed among these history makers for its unprecedented discovery mission to explore, identify and photograph what lies beyond what is currently known and to seek what is unknown.

"The James Webb Space Telescope integrates multiple advanced technologies into a system with unprecedented capabilities," stated NAA Chairman, Jim Albaugh. "Its use will accelerate humankind's understanding of the world we live in and help unlock the mysteries of the universe. The team is truly deserving of this great honor."

On July 11, 2022, President Biden shared the first images delivered by the James Webb Telescope at a public event at the White House."These images are going to remind the world that America can do big things, and remind the American people – especially our children – that there's nothing beyond our capacity," said President Biden in remarks during the event. "We can see possibilities no one has ever seen before. We can go places no one has ever gone before."

The James Webb Team will be celebrated at the Collier Award Dinner on June 15th, 2023. The event will be held at the Ritz-Carlton Pentagon City, Washington, D.C.. While sponsorships will be available, they will be limited as a sell-out is anticipated in honor of this remarkable achievement. To learn more, please contact <u>Tina Wu</u>.

The Collier Selection Committee is composed of a diverse group of experts representing every facet of American aviation.

Members of the Selection Committee

Jim Albaugh, NAA Chair	Brad McKeage, Embraer
Samantha Magill, NAA Vice Chair	Mary Miller, Signature Flight Support
Nicole Alexander, Aero Club of Wichita	Mary Claire Murphy, Textron Aviation
Matt Byrd, Hillwood Aviation	Scott Neumann, NAA Contest and Records Board
Leda Chong, Gulfstream Aerospace Corporation	Mark Ofsthun, Honda Aircraft Company
James Darcy, Airbus Americas, Inc.	Ken Panos, Aerojet Rocketdyne
J. Ray Davis, Rolls-Royce	Eric Pierce, Lockheed Martin
Robert DeForge, Raytheon Technologies	Martiqua Post, U.S. Air Force Academy
Jana Denning, Aero Club of Washington	Skip Ringo, The Ringo Group
Gary Dunn, Aviation Partners	Yvette Rose, Cargo Airline Association
Ted Ellett, NAA General Counsel	Stacey Rudser, Asso. for Women in Aviation Maintenance
Andrew Gappy, Leonardo Helicopters USA	Blake Scholl, Boom Supersonic
Sierra Grimes, National Business Aviation Association	Bob Stangarone, Stangarone and Associates
Lauren Haertlein, Zipline	Tonya Sudduth, Bombardier
Chris Hart, Hart Solutions, LLC	Goodloe Sutton, The Boeing Company
Duane Hawkins, Spirit Aerosystems	Brad Thress, Flight Safety International
Chris Hart, Hart Solutions, LLC	Goodloe Sutton, The Boeing Company
Richard Kane, VeriJet	Read Van De Water, Safran USA, Inc.
Dick Koenig, New England Air Museum	Tony Velocci, Aviation Week & Space Tech. (Ret.)
Ben Kowalski, Cirrus Aircraft	James Viola, Helicopter Association International
Charles Lyon, Northrop Grumman	Patty Wagstaff, Patty Wagstaff Aerobatic Instruction
Faye Malarkey Black, Regional Airline Association	Carl Wolf, Garmin International

**About the NAA** - Since 1905, the NAA has been the official record keeper of aviation achievement in the United States as well as administrator of the nation's most prestigious aviation awards including the Robert J. Collier Trophy and the Wright Brothers Memorial Trophy. In 1922, the entity was incorporated with the mission of advancing the art, sport, and science of aviation and space flight by fostering opportunities to participate fully in aviation activities and by promoting public understanding of the importance of aviation and space flight to the United States.

###