

FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE

Contact: Stephanie Griffith

703-416-4888 Ext 104 awards-events@naa.aero

Barbara Walters-Phillips to Receive the 2019 Katharine Wright Trophy

Washington, DC, August 5, 2019 – The National Aeronautic Association (NAA) is proud to announce that Barbara Walters-Phillips has been selected as the recipient of the 2019 Katharine Wright Trophy. The trophy was established in 1981 and is awarded annually to an individual who "...has contributed to the success of others or made a personal contribution to the advancement of the art, sport, and science of aviation and space flight over an extended period of time."

Walters-Phillips is being recognized for "... her career and contributions as a pilot, mentor, community advocate, and educator; inspiring countless youth and fellow teachers with her aviation education programs."

While attending the National Congress on Aviation and Space Education (NCASE) in 1986, Walters-Phillips was inspired to integrate aerospace education into her fifth-grade classroom curriculum. After receiving the Eleanor Roosevelt Grant from the American Association of University Women, she created "Aviation Invasion", an aerospace program designed to motivate middle school girls towards math and science careers. The program quickly expanded, and Walters-Phillips brought her workshops, classes and "first flight" experiences to thousands of students and teachers across the country.

Since 1992, Walters-Phillips has worked with the Orlando Chapter 74 of the Experimental Aircraft Association (EAA) and the Orlando Youth Aviation Center to reach out to all youth and help them learn about aviation careers and school subjects needed to attain them. After completing the aviation curriculum developed by Walters-Phillips, the "Introduction to Aviation" students prepare a flight plan and fly a mini cross-country flight to three local airports. This program has provided hundreds of young people the opportunity to see their world from the sky.

Identifying a need to involve young people in the Lakeland Sun `n Fun Airshow program, Walters-Phillips started the first summer aviation camp, "Destination Aviation," for students at the Florida Aviation Museum in 2000. She is also the chairman of the Sun `n Fun Aerospace Educators' Workshop and has conducted this program for thousands of teachers in the last 27 years.

Walters-Phillips is credited with integrating the Civil Air Patrol's Aerospace Connections in Education (CAP ACE) program into the Orange County, Florida school system. She served as the director of the 2011 National CAP ACE Lift-off event, bringing together the school system, aviation industry, and community to inspire over 750 at-risk youth towards a better future using aviation and STEM.

Over the course of her career, Walters-Phillips has received over 20 awards and recognitions for her work, including the 1994 National A. Scott Crossfield Aerospace Teacher of the Year Award and the 2011 Air Force Association National Medal of Merit for Aerospace Education. In 2018 she was named Teacher of the Year at Cheney Elementary School, she then transferred to Rosemont Elementary, where she continues to inspire and motivate at-risk students with her lifelong passion for aerospace.

"We at NAA, along with our partners, The Ninety-Nines, are so proud to present this year's Katharine Wright Trophy to Barbara Walters-Phillips," said NAA President, Greg Principato. "It is not enough to make your own major impact to win the Katharine Wright, in addition to doing great things one must also devote themselves to making those around them better. Barbara Walters-Phillips is exactly the kind of aviation leader, mentor, teacher and inspirer this award was meant to recognize. Congratulations."

Members of the 2019 Katharine Wright Trophy Selection Committee included: Corbi Bulluck, The Ninety-Nines; Debbie Gallaway, The Ninety-Nines; Major Chrystina Jones, 2017 Katharine Wright Trophy Recipient; Pat Prentiss, The Ninety-Nines, and Shelly Simi, President & CEO, National Association of State Aviation Officials.

The Katharine Wright Trophy will be presented at the NAA Fall Awards Ceremony at a date and location to be determined. For more information or to view a complete list of previous recipients, please visit www.naa.aero.

The National Aeronautic Association is a non-profit membership organization devoted to fostering opportunities to participate fully in aviation activities and to promoting public understanding of the importance of aviation and space flight to the United States. NAA is the caretaker of some of the most important aviation awards in the world, and certifies all national aviation records set in the United States. For information, visit www.naa.aero.