

FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE

Contact: Stephanie Berry

703-416-4888 Ext 104 awards-events@naa.aero

Anne Bridge Baddour to Receive the 2018 Katharine Wright Trophy

Washington, DC, August 9, 2018 – The National Aeronautic Association (NAA) is proud to announce that Anne Bridge Baddour has been selected as the recipient of the 2018 Katharine Wright Trophy. The trophy was established in 1981 and is awarded annually to an individual who "...has contributed to the success of others or made a personal contribution to the advancement of the art, sport, and science of aviation and space flight over an extended period of time."

Baddour is being recognized for "... her lifelong personal commitment to the advancement of all who pursue aviation careers and her tireless efforts in educating the aviation community and general public."

For the past 64 years, Baddour has dedicated herself to aviation. She has experience as a pilot in 42 types of aircraft and for 20 years, worked as a research pilot for Lincoln Laboratory at the Massachusetts Institute of Technology - the first female pilot employed by the Lab. She was assigned to programs for the Department of Defense and the Federal Aviation Administration, including work as an early tester of the Global Positioning System (GPS). Baddour has competed in 16 air races, beginning in 1954, and set 27 world speed records between 1985 and 1991.

She has served as an active leader and helped to establish scholarship programs at variety of aviation organizations, including the Society of Experimental Test Pilots, the Aero Club of New England, the Ninety-Nines, the Smithsonian Air & Space Museum, the Amelia Earhart Birthplace Museum, and Daniel Webster College. Throughout her work with these organizations, Baddour has stood behind countless individuals, helping them to achieve their career goals by leading them through inspiration, scholarship, and guidance.

"I think Katharine Wright, and indeed all members of the Wright family, would be delighted by the selection of Anne Bridge Baddour to receive this award," stated Greg Principato, President and CEO, NAA. "The essence of this award is not only great achievement in one's own right, but recognition of the extra effort it takes to make all around you better each day. Anne exemplifies what this award means."

"I want to thank the National Aeronautic Association for selecting me to receive this prestigious national award. I am truly honored," said Baddour. "We must do all we can to assist those who follow us to achieve their aviation ambitions."

Members of the Katharine Wright Trophy Selection Committee included: Pat Blum, Katharine Wright Trophy Recipient (2016); Leslie Day, Member, The Ninety-Nines; Major Chrystina Jones, Katharine Wright Trophy Recipient (2017); Jill Meyers, Director of Business Operations, Dreams Soar, Inc.; Pat Prentiss, Past President, The Ninety Nines, and NAA Board of Directors; John Stammreich, President, Aero Club of Southern California, and NAA Board of Directors; and Alyssa Ten Eyck, Corporate Communications, Embraer, and NAA Board of Directors.

The Katharine Wright Trophy will be presented at the NAA Fall Awards Ceremony at a date and location to be determined. For more information or to view a complete list of previous recipients, please visit www.naa.aero.

The National Aeronautic Association is a non-profit membership organization devoted to fostering opportunities to participate fully in aviation activities and to promoting public understanding of the importance of aviation and space flight to the United States. NAA is the caretaker of some of the most important aviation awards in the world, and certifies all national aviation records set in the United States. For information, visit www.naa.aero.

#####