

## FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE

Contact: Stephanie Berry 703-416-4888 Ext 104 awards-events@naa.aero

## Shirley McCall to Receive the 2016 Brewer Trophy

**Washington, DC, October 27, 2016** – The National Aeronautic Association (NAA) is proud to announce that Shirley McCall has been selected as the recipient of the Frank G. Brewer Trophy. The trophy was established in 1943 to honor "… significant contributions of enduring value to aerospace education in the United States."

Ms. McCall is being recognized for "... dedicating 42 years to educating, leading, and inspiring students to pursue careers in aerospace through the formation of the TransSTEM Academy."

As an educator with the District of Columbia Public School system, Ms. McCall founded the TransTECH Academy (currently known as the TransSTEM Academy) at the Francis L. Cardozo Education Campus in 1991. The Academy was the first transportation studies program of its kind in the Washington metropolitan area and exposed students to various aerospace education programs and real-world experiences. The program's curriculum is also integrated with science, technology, engineering, and math (STEM). Over 750 students have graduated from the Academy since its inception and over 85% go on to two/four year colleges and universities.

The TransSTEM Academy, under Ms. McCall's leadership, has expanded in unimaginable ways including a unique partnership with the United States Department of Defense to transform an ordinary classroom into a FLEX Lab Aviation Classroom Experience (FLEX-ACE), where students are engaged in complex science, math, and technology curriculum. The FLEX-ACE classroom has three dual-pilot flight simulators, an air traffic control tower, and nine remotely piloted vehicle stations. The system lets students role-play in real-world missions that take place at test ranges across the country and in local air space. The creation of this lab would not have been possible without the perseverance and commitment of Ms. McCall.

On June 21, 2016, the TransSTEM Academy celebrated its 25<sup>th</sup> Anniversary. This day also marked the retirement of Ms. McCall.

"Shirley McCall embodies the values expressed by the Brewer Trophy," said Greg Principato, President & CEO of NAA. "At a time when it is critically important to educate and excite young people about aviation, she has, for decades, put her prodigious passion and energy toward igniting the same passion, interest and excitement in her students. She has never let anything stop her. Just as she has inspired her students, so too does her work inspire all of us."

The 2016 Brewer Trophy Selection Committee:

Trip Barber: 2014 Brewer Trophy Recipient Peggy Chabrian: 2009 Brewer Trophy Recipient Debbie Gallaway: 2004 Brewer Trophy Recipient Martha King: 2012 Brewer Trophy Recipient Pat Prentiss: 2001 Brewer Trophy Recipient Cassandra Bosco: Women in Aviation International Shelly Simi: Aurora Flight Sciences Tony Velocci: NAA Board of Directors Frank Brewer Robert Brewer Greg Principato: Brewer Selection Committee Chairman, NAA

The Brewer Trophy will be presented at the NAA Fall Awards Ceremony on December 8, 2016 in Arlington, Virginia. For more information or to view a complete list of previous recipients, please visit <u>www.naa.aero</u>.

The National Aeronautic Association is a non-profit membership organization devoted to fostering opportunities to participate fully in aviation activities and to promoting public understanding of the importance of aviation and space flight to the United States. NAA is the caretaker of some of the most important aviation awards in the world, and certifies all aviation records set in the United States. For information, visit www.naa.aero.

# # # # #