

## FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE

Contact: Stephanie Berry

703-416-4888 Ext 104 awards-events@naa.aero

## NINE AEROSPACE PROJECTS AND ACCOMPLISHMENTS TO COMPETE FOR THE 2015 ROBERT J. COLLIER TROPHY

**Washington, DC, February 2, 2016** – The National Aeronautic Association announced today that nine aerospace projects and accomplishments will compete for the 2015 Robert J. Collier Trophy.

For 104 years, the Collier Trophy has been the benchmark of aerospace achievement. Awarded annually "... for the greatest achievement in aeronautics or astronautics in America", it has been bestowed upon some of the most important projects, programs, individuals, and accomplishments in history. Past winners include the crews of Apollo 11 and Apollo 8, the Mercury 7, Scott Crossfield, Elmer Sperry, and Howard Hughes. Projects and programs which have been the recipient of the Collier include the B-52, the Polaris Missile, the Surveyor Moon Landing Program, the Boeing 747, the Cessna Citation, the F-22, and the International Space Station. The 2014 Collier was awarded to Gulfstream Aerospace for the development of the G650.

## The 2015 Nominees are:

- Airbus A350 XWB
- Blue Origin's New Shepard Team
- C-5M Super Galaxy
- Dawn Project Team
- HA-420 HondaJet
- ICON A5
- New Horizons Project Team
- Two Eagles Balloon Team
- UCAS-D Autonomous Aerial Refueling Demonstration

Led by NAA Chairman Jim Albaugh, the Selection Committee will consist of leaders representing various organizations throughout aerospace.

The Selection Committee includes:

Mark Baker, Aircraft Owners and Pilots Association

David Balloff, Embraer

Tom Bell, Boeing

Bob Brown, Academy of Model Aeronautics

Steve Brown, National Business Aviation Association

Steve Callaghan, Chairman - NAA Awards and Events Committee

Brian Chase, Bell Helicopter

Leda Chong, Gulfstream Aerospace Corporation

David Coleal, Bombardier Aerospace

Jack Dailey, Smithsonian National Air and Space Museum

Bob Durbin, Aerospace Industries Association

Barry Eccleston, Airbus Americas

Randall Greene, Safe Flight Instrument Corporation

Mike Heuer, International Aerobatic Club

T. C. Jones, Northrop Grumman

Krisstie Kondrotis, Spirit Aerosystems

Dr. John Langford, Aurora Flight Sciences

Dr. Samantha Magill, Honda Aircraft Company

Dr. Sandy Magnus, American Institute of Aeronautics and Astronautics

Dave Manke, United Technologies

Mary Miller, BBA Aviation

Stan O'Connor, General Electric Aviation

Ken Panos, Aerojet Rocketdyne

Steve Plummer, Rolls-Royce, North America

Skip Ringo, The Ringo Group

Jean Rosanvallon, Dassault Falcon

Bob Rubino, Lockheed Martin

John Stammreich. Aero Club of Southern California

Laurie Sussman, Rockwell Collins

Max Trescott, Aero Club of Northern California

Mark Van Tine, Jeppessen

Jonathan Gaffney, President & CEO of NAA, will serve as the Director of the selection process and is a non-voting member of the Committee.

"The Collier is the Super Bowl of the world's aerospace industry, and this list of nominees certainly reflects it," said Jim Albaugh, Chairman of the National Aeronautic Association and Chairman of the Selection Committee. "These are all extremely worthy nominations, and they each demonstrate the vitality of our industry."

The Selection Committee will meet on Tuesday, March 8<sup>th</sup> in Arlington, Virginia, and the winner will be announced that evening at the NAA Spring Awards Dinner held at the Crystal Gateway Marriott.

The formal presentation of the Collier Trophy will take place at a later date and location to be determined. More information can be found at <a href="https://www.naa.aero">www.naa.aero</a>.

The National Aeronautic Association is a non-profit membership organization devoted to fostering opportunities to participate fully in aviation activities and to promoting public understanding of the importance of aviation and space flight to the United States. NAA is the caretaker of some of the most important aviation awards in the world, and certifies all world and national aviation records set in the United States. For information, visit <a href="https://www.naa.aero">www.naa.aero</a>.

#####